PPAC: Photographing Public Art Challenge #4

A day later and also with slightly different content than planned (It rained heavily yesterday so I didn’t do my intended walk). So, for this week’s PPAC I’ve got an example of modern Shona Sculpture from Chapungu Sculpture Park in Harare…

…The Shona people have a tradition of working in stone with the human face often forming a key part of the artwork.

Now something closer to home – about 400yds away! It’s graffiti – but not a very colourful form. Instead, it has something to say…

…The spraycan writing is as bad as my handwriting – which is why I use a keyboard 😉 But I believe this transcribes as “Everyone has a chapter they don’t read out loud..” Makes a change from the usual ‘tag’ graffiti and it’s quite thought provoking too 🙂

Back to Sculpture. Here’s a Horse Tamer from Piazza del Quirinale in Rome…

…It is one of a pair in the centre of the square that are believed to represent Castor and Pollux, the Dioscuri. I’m afraid I can’t tell you which one this is! The sculptures are thought to date to the 3rd century AD. You can read more here.

I have another artform to show, but as that will be stretching the guidelines a bit too far, I’m going to show it in a supplemental post 🙂

7 Comments

  1. I really like your first photo. The stone work is basic but makes a huge statement. Speaking of which your graffiti makes a nice statement too 😀

  2. I really like the way you make your choices for the challenge, Martin. These pieces, each very distinctive, tell a story, and I really like that. The first one is particularly engaging. I’m woefully ignorant of the Shona people, and you’ve provided a nice homework assignment for me.

    1. Hi Debra – thanks for the kind comment 🙂 30 years ago I didn’t know anything about the Shona people – then I married one! 😉 The history and culture of the Shona is deeply interlinked with the Zulu and Ndebele peoples. Then add the colonial actions of the Dutch Boers and the British into the mix. There’s a wealth of history so you’ve probably given yourself quite a reading task! 😉

  3. This is a very interesting post. I love your first picture. I also like how you drew in the second one to make it fit. It was thought-provoking, and that’s what art does, too. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.