A day later and also with slightly different content than planned (It rained heavily yesterday so I didn’t do my intended walk). So, for this week’s PPAC I’ve got an example of modern Shona Sculpture from Chapungu Sculpture Park in Harare…

…The Shona people have a tradition of working in stone with the human face often forming a key part of the artwork.

Now something closer to home – about 400yds away! It’s graffiti – but not a very colourful form. Instead, it has something to say…

…The spraycan writing is as bad as my handwriting – which is why I use a keyboard 😉 But I believe this transcribes as “Everyone has a chapter they don’t read out loud..” Makes a change from the usual ‘tag’ graffiti and it’s quite thought provoking too 🙂

Back to Sculpture. Here’s a Horse Tamer from Piazza del Quirinale in Rome…

…It is one of a pair in the centre of the square that are believed to represent Castor and Pollux, the Dioscuri. I’m afraid I can’t tell you which one this is! The sculptures are thought to date to the 3rd century AD. You can read more here.

I have another artform to show, but as that will be stretching the guidelines a bit too far, I’m going to show it in a supplemental post 🙂