Fresh Fields

May – Busy month with contracts available throughout the month. I started off by applying a second dose of fertilizer to my Sorghum…

20230121171057_1

…and Soya Bean crops. These will now grow through to harvest time without further intervention from me unless some weeds appear.

At the start of the second week I looked up the available contracts – clearly it’s Haymaking time for a lot of the local farmers, though there were also Silage jobs. I can’t take Silage work because I don’t have a Bale Wrapper but Haymaking is right up my street. Each job is, in reality, 5 tasks – so they pay well. And there’s the bonus that you are contracted for a set number of bales – any additional bales earn money for you!

Here’s how it goes – First you mow…

20230125205107_1

…That’s quite a long job with this old-school cutter. Then you Ted the Grass – turn it over to dry it. Here I am crossing the river with my Tedder on the way to the field…

20230125210402_1

Once the Grass has dried and become Hay, it needs to be Windrowed…

20230125213522_1

…that’s always a dusty job😅 Then we have to fetch the Baler and package up the Hay…

20230125215604_1

…This field produced 67 bales…

20230125220552_1

Finally, we have to pick up the bales and transport them to the buyer…

20230125224543_1

The work alone earned me €5700 and then I got paid an additional €1800 for extra bales! 😎 But, As you can see, Haymaking is an intensive process – imagine doing that with Scythes and Pitchforks! Even with my mechanical aids, this field took me the equivalent of a week’s work and that’s why the work pays so well.

…That’s the story of May told in just one job. Time to head back to my farm at the end of a hard day’s work…

20230125230936_1

…I took Haymaking jobs on similar sized fields for the last 2 weeks of May. I ended the month with €44k in the bank account and that means that the dream of a better Combine Harvester is almost within my grasp. June should see my Barley crop ready to harvest and probably some harvesting for other farmers too👍 As an aside, I’m amazed at how quickly I have become adept at manually loading bales onto that trailer – that’s one gaming skill I never realised I’d be learning😂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.