There’s an excellent piece from a Goon Show script that goes as follows: –

Grytpype-Thynne: Oh, Neddie.
Seagoon: Curses, I'm spotted.
Grytpype-Thynne: Why are you wearing that leopard-skin?
Seagoon: So that's why I'm spotted.

Now, obviously I’m not wandering around in a circus strongman outfit😂 And being a bit of a street photographer, I’m pretty good at blending into my surroundings. The same is true when I’m photographing at football. The players usually don’t know where I am and thus the rarely come near me when celebrating a goal. But, at our home game against Leatherhead, I captured Theo scoring to give us the lead…

Wingate & Finchley 1 vs Leatherhead 1 (2021/22)

The players then ran to near the corner flag to celebrate – where I just happened to be standing. Then Dexter spotted me and pointed to the camera🙄😂…

Wingate & Finchley 1 vs Leatherhead 1 (2021/22)

…resulting in some posing for the camera😀…

Wingate & Finchley 1 vs Leatherhead 1 (2021/22)

It’s good to see the players looking happy👍

A week later and we’re away to East Thurrock. Theo gets himself on the scoresheet again😀…

East Thurrock Utd 2 vs Wingate & Finchley 2 (2021/22)

I can only assume that he could see me while he was watching the ball go in because next thing he’s running towards me😂…

East Thurrock Utd 2 vs Wingate & Finchley 2 (2021/22)

…and getting his braids tousled by Tyrique 😂…

East Thurrock Utd 2 vs Wingate & Finchley 2 (2021/22)

Almost every football photographer I know complains when the players go elsewhere on the pitch to celebrate. I don’t because, although it’s nice to get these sorts of shot, in all fairness I can’t expect the players to know where I am as I move around the periphery of the pitch constantly. But I thought today I’d share these moments of joy with you 👍