10 Travel Photographs

The second photograph that I posted on Facebook for this challenge is connected to my transport interests. Back when I was flying as a hobby, the club I belonged to used to organise fly-out’s once or twice a year. Usually these went to one of the local French airfields and an overnight stay in a hotel was included. In 1991 we went to Abbeville. Arriving in late-afternoon, there was a coach to take us from the aerodrome to the hotel in the centre of town. The evening was spent enjoying dinner and then retiring to the hotel bar where flying tales of varying levels of accuracy were exchanged over a few drinks.

Departure was scheduled for early afternoon next day and the following morning most (all?) of my fellow pilots were having a lie-in. But I’ve always been an early riser so I was out on the streets at 06:30 and strolling through town enjoying the sights including the Collegiate Church of Saint Vulfran – a magnificent gothic-fronted building with an incongruously small nave behind. I initially thought that it was a victim of the one of the wars but it turns out that it was never completed!

Continuing through the town I found signs for the railway station so off I went in that direction. The station building is a masterpiece in itself – I must post a photo sometime. I found a local train parked in one of the platforms and a shunter next to a shed. I wandered up onto the footbridge to photo the station and was pleased to find a train approaching from the south…

…presumably from Amiens. Where it was going I have no idea though its next stop could well have been Le Touquet – another popular fly-out destination. Planes and trains – a great way to spend a weekend away šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.