An Itch I Can’t Scratch

One of the biggest problems I have with American Truck Sim at present is the lack of the Peterbilt 389. It’s the truck I most desire for my personal chariot. I know it’s on the way but it looks like it won’t be in the next release although SCS did share some views of the interior modelling in a recent blog post.

Up until this week all the company’s trucks had been Peterbilt 579’s but I just opened a third garage in Elko, NV. Elko is home to a Kenworth Dealer. I popped in there for a service and whilst I was there took a look at their trucks. I decided to get a Kenworth T680 for the new garage and my next recruit – supporting the local dealer again. I didn’t like the stock colors, so I opted for a mid-blue to differentiate it from the rest of the fleet. The intention was to work on a company skin for the T680 based on the blue using the House Martin badge. This break from standardisation may seem odd but the key components – engine and gearbox are common to both makes. Just a week of game-time down the pixelated road I’m having second thoughts – you see, to my eyes (and it’s irrelevant what color the vehicle is painted) the T680 is ugly compared with the Peterbilt 579. The grill just doesn’t fit with the shape of the hood and I don’t like that much either…
t680…so I’m now having second thoughts about that truck.

Also in the back of my mind is the missing ‘389. Kenworth’s W900 equivalent is a highly respected beast and one that I do like the look of – not as much as the 389 but it is a looker! So now I’m thinking about getting a W900 Sleeper Cab. The cost is almost covered by the money the company makes each week and I’d be trading in another truck to buy it! Which truck though? My 579 sleeper cab or the T680. Elko is out in the wilds when you look at the roads south to Phoenix or Las Vegas. Motels, or at least ones that are still in business, are few and far between. So, I’m thinking of swapping trucks with my employee Simone at Elko and trading in the T680 for a W900. That will give Simone a sleeper cab for those long lonely roads and I can at least massage the itch even if I can’t scratch it! This is probably what my W900 will look like if I do go down the road I’m thinking… w900w900_Head on …I hope you like the colour 🙂

Comments

  1. I do love the color! I wish you were here in the US so I could introduce you to a friend who has sold Peterbilt’s for 40 years. You two could have a wonderful conversation! 🙂

    • Hi Debra – I have gone down the road of getting the Kenworth W900, so I’ve crossed to the dark side 😉 But I definitely want that 389 when it comes out! I’ll share some images of my new W900 in another post – the color is slightly more golden than appears above.

Leave a Reply

