You Are Not Receiving My Comments

Dear Readers and Friends,

Over the last couple of days I have tried commenting to a number of posts only to find that my comment did not appear. Some sites work and some don’t. Good friend Judith of http://touch2touch.wordpress.com/ found my attempted comments in her Spam folder. I have raised the issue with WordPress and with Akismet. This is the response I got from WordPress…

Hello Martin.

Because of the way these users have their comments set up, you are indeed getting caught in their spam filters. You’ll need to contact the site owners directly. if they choose, they can mark your comment “Not Spam” and make certain that you are not a) blacklisted on their site or b) breaking any of the rules they have set up for commenters. It’s possible you accidentally triggered their filter.

Best of luck with this. Thank you!

Now I don’t believe for one minute that any of my regular contacts whose posts I comment on have gone into their site’s background pages and changed their spam filter settings the day before yesterday and I find the response from WordPress lacking in any consideration for their customer ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am still awaiting a response from Akismet on this issue. Please can you check your spam folders for any comments I may have made.

Martin

ps – on the Akismet support area I found some other people complaining of the same issue ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comments

  1. This does happen by only by the site itself,,, I lost all my alerts and my followers had reset itself to not get email alerts. I had to spend a couple of hours resetting that. So I assume it is the same with these blogs. Have no idea as to why it happens.. good luck. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks for the input Gerry ๐Ÿ™‚ It seems to have started on the 14th. ps – commented on your reblog of the cat… probably in your spam folder!

  2. I guess I should check my spam folder regularly then in case this happens to more than just you

    • Hi Colline – yes, that would be wise as I know that it is more than just me from the Akismet support questions. Seems to have started on the 14th.

  3. So annoying when this happens . . .

  4. Tried unsuccessfully to post a comment yesterday – got a message saying I was commenting too quickly and should slow down – not happening on all blogs though.

    • Hi Gerald – thanks for dropping by ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, you’re doing better than me! All I get is a refreshed page and no sign of my comment anywhere ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Colleagues are finding my comments in amongst their spam (right place for them did I hear you say ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  5. hi Martin,
    thank you for your comment about the mine disaster in Turkey and PM Erdogan’s “style”

    • Glad you found it – and I really enjoyed your playing of 16 tons. It seemed a fitting tribute for the families decimated by the disaster.

  6. You are definitely not alone, Martin. I have been regularly checking my Spam folder because I have been finding “others” trapped in there, too! And you’re rightโ€ฆthat is a very weak response from WP. Disappointing!

    • Thanks Debra. I think they failed to grasp the full significance at the first attempt. Subsequently, they seem to have realised that it was affecting anyone I was commenting to and that other people were also affected. Akismet have also been in touch and having loked at my comments can’t see any reason for them to have been treated as spam. Today I have successfully made a couple of comments so hopefully the worst is behind us ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I remember this happening to me a couple of years ago. I had no idea what was going on or why, and it took a whole bunch of poking around and persistence to find out — I can’t remember now how it finally got resolved. But I know that WordPress and Akismet certainly gave a fine impersonation of not caring in the least!

    • Initially I got that impression but a bit of persistence on the wordpress side seems to have resulted in them resolving the issue and Akismet got involved too. They are at a loss to understand why my posts were spammed for around 3 days. All I knew was I hadn’t written anything to justify spamming.

  8. Congratulations on getting it fixed so quickly. When it happened to me, it lasted for months, and I was reduced to commenting on blogs which had commented on mine- because then I had their email addresses, and could ask them to check their spam. I check my spam, which is a huge waste of time normally, so I can understand some people just not checking.

    • I think they are much more up to speed now Clare but they don’t always realise it’s a global issue which was the initial misunderstanding between me and Robyn. Once that bridge was crossed it seems that that the issue was promptly resolved ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

