Daily Prompt: Landscape

Michelle W asked… “When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do you see the forest first, or the trees?”

Lone Trees

I see trees, Lone trees
Each planted with deliberation
Or accidentally vagrant
In the plots behind
Terraced suburban lives

Then I see birds
flying tree to tree
Oases of food
And protection from predation
Safe refuge in
The brick and concrete desert
Of suburban lives

Tits and Robins
Finches – In Finchley,
Where else!
Blackbirds
The occasional Woodpecker
And, ever rarer
The Cockney Sparrer
Each living their
Suburban lives

Martin Addison, 10/05/2013

Blue Tit

Cockney Sparrer

Check out the Daily Prompt: Landscape Here.

14 Comments

  1. Loved the photos Martin!

    I am nominating you for the WordPress Family Award created by Shaun Gibson.
    Kindly link back to me as the one who nominated you. (http://wp.me/p273Pg-h7)
    ~Display the award logo in your blog.
    ~Nominate 10 other bloggers that has impacted your WordPress experience.
    ~Lastly, please notify that you had awarded them.

    1. Magdalene – that’s very kind but I’m very sorry, I don’t accept awards. It is hard enough trying to respond to those of you kind enough to comment without the additional pressures of responding to the requirements of the many awards that flow around the WordPress blogosphere.

      I thank you for your kindness but must gratefully decline 😦

    1. I’m cunning Bob – I feed them. So they keep coming back. In fact, they go through so much seed that I’m amazed they can even get airborne at all! 😉

Leave a Reply

