Night Woman

An open space…
A field…
Or a playground maybe?
I see her
On the other side
And I know
She has me in her
Minds Eye

Suddenly she is there
Beside me
Too soon for
Human pace
I feel her warmth
And look into eyes
Brown, enticing
That have the depth
Of eternity

Her hair flows
In an unfelt wind
As her dress,
ill defined
Like chiffon in the moonlight
Barely hides her form

I feel her warmth
In an instant of
Intimate caress
And pressing desires

Suddenly
I am awake
Alone in tumescence
Beneath a rumpled
Duvet

I try to grasp
The faded memory
I cannot see her
I no longer feel her
That face
Those eyes
Are lost
Vanished with the dress
Like the mists of autumn

A dream Passing
With the night
In the blink of a
Sleeping mind

Martin Addison – 20/11/2012. Inspiration from reading Susan’s poetry.

I suspect that most men have these dreams throughout their adult lives – that strange woman who you can’t quite recognise as anyone who you have ever met.

Comments

  1. then if he is lucky, he turns around and cuddles up to the wife ……

  2. lovely hi how are you xjen

  3. Sweet dreams Martin!

  4. The poem is quite gripping. I thought it’s about a ghost. Well metaphorical, it is, I guess.
    Love it, thanks for the share.

  5. This is hauntingly beautiful poetry, Martin. A lovely, but disturbing dream, I think!

    • Hi Debra – I don’t know if it’s disturbing. I wouldn’t classify it as a nightmare. Just one of those dreams that happens along from time to time. I’ve definitely had the occasional real nightmare in the past – though they seem to become rarer as one gets older! πŸ™‚

  6. In my dreams this is usually about the time she rolls her eyes at me, Martin! πŸ˜‰
    Seriously though… wow! You truly are a man of many talents, my friend!
    πŸ™‚

    • Lol Bob – I bet she doesn’t πŸ˜‰ I do my best to interest my readers but, ironically, this was a bit of an admission too far…A little bit too far into my soul – but maybe that’s what poetry is about! I take it that you have met her too? πŸ™‚

      • The sad part is I very rarely remember my dreams, so if I have met her…
        well, considering the possible eye-rolling… maybe that is a blessing in disguise!
        πŸ™‚

      • you’re lucky in some ways Bob – The night Woman is only one of my dreams that I have met as I wake up. Falling off sloping platforms into the path of trains and being chased by dinosaurs are others I’ve experienced… (the latter has no realism in my time)

        Actually, maybe you’re not lucky… Perhaps you also have some of those other dreams too…

Leave a Reply

