A-Z Archive: Z Challenge

From My Archive I Choose…

Z is for Ziggurat…

… an ancient building style used by the peoples of the Middle-East in pre-biblical times to construct temples to their gods. Not unlike the early stepped pyramids, Ziggurats were often rectangular in shape rather than square and of terraced construction with each subsequent level being smaller than the previous one. Sometimes the upper levels of the the building were offset from the centre of the rectangle. Fuller details of Ziggurats can be found on Wikipedia. Modern architecture sometimes draws on the ancient designs for deliberate visual effect. However, the example I have chosen is clearly a set of offices that have been converted to apartments and additional levels have been added in Ziggurat fashion above. The building has even been named Ziggurat!Ziggurat_01Ziggurat_02

10 Comments

  1. I was never heard of this term “Ziggurat” before. But your picture is showing it’s just wonderful piece of architecture. I am going to check more about this term in wiki. 🙂 You always share something new, a big thank you for that.

    1. Hi Arindam – a fascinating if ancient style of building. We get lots of archaeological programmes on the TV in the UK so I knew a bit about the subject already. But the Wikipedia article gives a lot of information, so it’s well worth a read 🙂 Thanks for the kind comment – I’ll try to keep introducing interesting subject matter!

  2. #2 — FANTASTIC. I love this photo.
    I also love the ziggurat style, which actually is kind of popular, relatively speaking. It combines visual interest with utility — so far as light is concerned, at least.

    1. Thanks Judith – when I took the shots I never anticipated I’d find them of use for an A-Z challenge 😉 It is an interesting style.

Leave a Reply

