Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

For me, the Journey should be as much a part of a holiday as the holiday itself. It should provide its own entertainments rather than an in-flight movie. It should allow you to entertain yourself should you so wish. It should be a relaxation for much of the time rather than hours spent watching the back of a truck in front on a featureless motorway. So, for me the ideal journey is a Train Journey. It seems my son agrees with me 🙂

reading

Reading on a TGV in France


Family Photo

Family Photo on a Eurostar

Comments

  1. What great photos!
    And you all look so happy.
    There is no question, a train journey beats cars and planes all hollow!
    Love the TGV and the Eurostar and the ICE — all of ’em.

    • Thanks Judith 🙂 I drive when it’s the logical choice – like when we went to Scotland last spring. Having a car to get about was essential. I’ll use the car for our autumn holiday this year as we’re off down to Cornwall. I used to love flying, especially in light aircraft, but airline travel is unpleasant and I only use it when there is no choice – Tenerife for example. I also love to sample the local public transport when I travel to other European destinations – I think it gives you a fuller understanding of the local people.

  2. made me smile, we will soon be on a tgv again 🙂

  3. Of planes, trains, and automobiles . . . I prefer trains for long distance travel. Choo Choo!

    • Gentle on the power – don’t want a slip… Hear that EMD wind up… A pull on the horn to let everyone know we’re rollin… have to do that on Train Sim becasue The L&N Don’t stop here any more…

      I personally prefer Michelle shocked’s version but it’s always good to go with JC 🙂

  4. I am also going to agree with you; the best journey is the train journey. Very nice photograph to go by with the theme. 🙂

    • You have a great railway system in India Arindam – Born, I suspect, out of a successful mix of British experience and Indian tenacity. I think I read somewhere that the system can’t be improved by technology because of the efficiency with which it is run? 🙂 You’re the man on the ground – be interesting to hear first hand 🙂

      ps – that’s my good lady sitting in the corner 🙂

  5. Love, love, love Eurostar. You son – indeed your whole family – has excellent taste. Ah, the romance of trans-European train travel…

  6. Looks like a lot of fun, Martin!
    I’ve yet to take a long train trip, but my wife and I hope to some day soon! These photos definetly add fuel to that fire!
    🙂

    • It was Bob 🙂 If you’re thinking of a long train journey you could find this website of interest – http://www.seat61.com/index.html . A very handy place for getting ideas. He has a section on US train travel, though I think it’s a ‘work in progress’.

      It’s interesting to compare train service frequencies on long-distance routes – 1 a day vs 1 an hour! I guess that is a direct result of airline competition over the longer distances in the US where genuine time savings can be made. Here in the UK – by the time you get to board your flight for Edinburgh (for example) the train is already halfway to the destination. With the vast majority of stations in city centres you get to where you want to go without having to travel into town from the airport.

      Anyway, I hope you do get to do that long distance train journey – I’m sure you’ll come back with lots of great artistic ideas 🙂

  7. Oh that “sit back and relax” feeling of a train journey. We have an old Thomas Cook European Timetable of railway and shipping services throughout Europe which we had great fun putting to use once upon a time . . . trust you and your family enjoyed your destination as much as the journey!

    • Hi Patti – yes we did 🙂 These were taken on the trip home from a week in the south of France at Canet-en-Roussillon. Fascinating area of modern seaside resorts and ancient Catalan cities.

  8. What a handsome young man you have Martin!

  9. Travelling in German trains was my favorite thing when I visited! (Partly because out of 6 days I was in train transit for about 15 hours 😉 )
    Lovely captures!

    • That’s quite a lot of time – I hope you love trains! I have yet to try out the ICE expresses. Perhaps when they start direct services from London 🙂

      Our trip to Rome was effectively two 2 days of train travel each way (with breaks in Paris both ways and Zurich on the outbound leg) – you can read about the outbound journey in my All Roads lead To Rome post and its sequel.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey (2e0mca.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

