A-Z Archive: L Challenge

From My Archive I Choose…

L is for Little Venice

Little Venice is a small area of London located just to the north of Paddington Station. It is centred around the confluence of the Grand Union Canal’s Paddington Arm and The Regents Canal. A number of barges and other vessels are permanently moored here as homes – although some have moved in recent years to dedicated moorings in nearby St. Johns Wood. I was lucky to work near Little Venice for close on 20 years and it was a regular lunchtime walk for me.

Little Venice - Winter 1986

Little Venice - Winter 1986

Little Venice - Summer 1990

Little Venice - Summer 1990

Little Venice - Summer 1990

Little Venice - Summer 1990

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Little Venice - Summer 2008

Why not have a go at the A-Z Archive Challenge yourself!

Comments

  1. marvelous martin! i had no idea about Little Venice, so glad to see your beautiful pictures and learn about something new πŸ™‚

    • I think it’s one of those places that tourists find out about once they put away the standard guidebook and ask the locals πŸ˜‰

  2. Little Venice very similar to Amsterdam too!

  3. Little Venice big pictures and just wish to be there…;)

  4. Venice is looking such a beautiful place. Thanks for taking us to that place through this post. You work near this place for 20 years. It is sounding really great. As always great photographs.

  5. See, this is what I’m talking about. What a wonderful share for those of us that might, otherwise, never get to see this part of the world. I would love to take a little boat ride here. I’m sure I’d wear another camera out before the trip were through. Thanks for posting, these photos are lovely. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Marcy – I agree that there are many wonderful shares on WordPress. I’m certainly getting to know some parts of the US (for example) and I think the nicest thing about it is that the shares are personal, not standard travel guide fare πŸ™‚

      • That personal note also adds to the variety of what we get to see, even if sometimes there are warts attached. You know the travel guides only show you ‘good’, not necessary ‘real’. Anyway, I enjoyed your photo selection, and just wanted you to realize as much. πŸ™‚

  6. Would you believe, Martin, I have never been? Your photos make me resolve to make a trip soon…

  7. I’d love to go on one of those boats down the canals. There is a romaticism to them that I can’t quite explain.

    Your photos are lovely!

    • Thanks Robyn – there’s a mix of colour slide, prints and digital in there πŸ˜‰ I have been on a canal trip and the bits between locks are idyllic but when you get to a lock you have to work hard and the maelstrom of water inside the lock can be alarming!

  8. Looks like a lovely place to meander and float about. Thanks, Martin!

  9. ‘L’ooks like an absolutely ‘l’ovely spot, Martin!
    Seems like the kind of place where the hours would just drift away…
    πŸ™‚

    • I’m sure they could on a warm summers day Bob – there is a green beside the canal (behind me when I photographed Florens). There is also Rembrandt Gardens behind the wall on the right of third shot – a real suntrap with good floral displays.

  10. Never knew about “Little Venice.” Of course, I was 18 years old when I was last in London. Thanks for the post on this subject.

  11. hi Martin,
    congrats for to have a bureau at home!
    greetings from
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/a-z-archive-m-photo-challenge/

  12. An area I’ve never seen or known about. How lucky you were!
    And what wonderful photos.

    • Thanks Judith. It does require walking away from the commonly visited tourist areas. You can actually walk all the way from Camden Market along the Regents Canal to Little Venice πŸ™‚

      ps – both of your comments went into my spam folder for some reason…

  13. What a great area. I would love to go on one of those canal houseboat holidays. It looks awfully cold in that 1st photo

Leave a Reply

