Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces

Faces

Mr. Happy and Mr. Grumpy

Comments

  1. Which is Happy and which is Grumpy?

  2. cool.
    so – which ones are these ?

    • Not sure how to interpret that one Jo – my assessment above in reply to Nancy. If you mean what type of vehicle… Both Leyland Leopard’s. Nearest (Mr.Happy) was bodied by Willowbrook whilst the one in the background was bodied by Marshall’s.

  3. I see the first bus as a look of relief that he’s made it to his stop and the second bus is still gritting his teeth hoping he’ll make it. I like it πŸ™‚

  4. lol great interpretation.

  5. Nice interpretation. The one in the back is definitely the grumpy one.

  6. Oh, a very creative idea that you don’t see at first. Now that you’ve given each a ‘face’ they seem to come alive.

    • Thanks Caroline – I try to come up with something different if I can. I suspected this one might require a bit of explanation to begin with πŸ™‚

  7. Yes those radiator grilles certainly tell their own stories
    don’t they my friend and I rather like these old black and
    white photographs as they have such nostalgic qualities…

    I think that this is my first visit to your Space but I will
    certainly call again and browse through your postings…

    Androgoth

  8. i agree, the second does look a bit grumpy, but the first one is more like exhausted. πŸ™‚

  9. Nice I like the non literal interpretation.

  10. This is such a great photo! Love the b&w… and yes, there are faces in cars, trucks, vans, buses, even trains, too. Thanks for sharing.

    • And Buildings – I seem to recall a French photograher who had a portfolio of buildings with faces! Thanks for popping by and the kind comment πŸ™‚

  11. Very clever! I always notice cars angry/happy expressions so I love this.

  12. I like the crispness of the photo. The BnW contrast makes a huge difference. Mr. Happy does look like a winner. I can almost see a naughty smile as he look at Mr. Grumpy. Have a fun weekend my friend.

    • LoL – I think it’s an accident of birth between the two vehicles. Willowbrook must have been better parents than Marshalls πŸ˜‰ Thanks for popping in – you have a fun weekend too πŸ™‚

  13. It took me a minute to see the difference in the two buses, but definitely saw the down-turned “mouth” (grill) on the 2nd bus and the more up-turned “mouth” (grill) on the 1st. I love this! I like outside-of-the-box thinking! Well done! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much – In later years manufacturers started to look at the effects of design upon the public and those small differences can make a passenger choose whether to travel or not!

  14. i can see happy and grumpy no problem bet the drivers are too lol have a lovely weekend hope you get on happys bus xxjen

  15. northernnarratives says:

    Great photos. I think they are both happy πŸ™‚

  16. Great photo, how long ago was this?

  17. How clever! Love Mr. Happy and Mr. Grumpy.

  18. I really enjoyed this one. I appreciate the different take on this challenge. There are many faces out there, that aren’t necessarily human…but what you’ve shown us is that they may have human characteristics. Food for creative thought for sure.

    • Thanks Josette – I think that they have human features because the designers are human. Then, we like to endow machines with human characteristics (so we can complain when they don’t follow our every command). And it goes on from there – so it was only natural for me to see the human in these machines.

  19. That’s awesome!
    Not only do I love your creative interpretation of this challenge, but it’s a wonderful image as well!
    Striking contrast… and I really like how those bus extends just beyond the frame… it really seems to ‘ground’ things… very nicely done!
    πŸ™‚

    • Thank’s Bob – I have cropped it significantly from the original image specifically for this challenge. It was originally a colour slide. I’m not quite as ‘different’ as you in my interpretations… but I’m almost there πŸ˜‰ Keep up the great work πŸ™‚

  20. I saw the grumpy bus right away, to me the front bus looks shocked. I see faces in vehicles all the time and it is a factor when I buy a car. It has to have a good face. I will not be caught in a grumpy or angry car.

    • Hi Maggie, thanks for dropping by. Yes, I can see shocked as another interpretation with the vertical indicators/sidelights like raised eyebrows πŸ™‚

  21. They do have very expressive faces Modern buses just don’t have the same character as the old ones.

  22. A lot of those old buses and cars seemed to have faces….

  23. GirlFromPlanetEarth says:

    Haha that’s so cool! Nice shot!

  24. that’s interesting!

  25. very clever radiator grille observation skills!
    a fun post. thanks for sharing

  26. Love the swirly windscreen on the face of the first. I have put Mr Grumpy behind because of the furrowed brow. But then the grills are telling different stories . . .

  27. I love it – didn’t see it at first. The grill on the second bus is turned the other way round, making his ‘mouth’ a frown. Great shot. I’m still working on mine – the faces theme is taking some thought because I didn’t want to just do the obvious.

    • Thanks Donna – It’s not an easy subject to come up with something out of the ordinary. I was lucky enough to have spotted this difference between the two vehicles a couple of years back when I scanned the slide, so it immediately came to mind πŸ™‚

  28. FUN … I had never looked at buses as having faces. Thanks for poitning that out in your photo.
    Isadora

    • Thanks for popping in Isadora – It seems to have been possible to ‘see’ faces in a lot of older vehicles including cars and trains. Modern aerodynamics and design techniques seem to have done away with that human touch.

  29. yes, a bus has a face …
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/faces/

Trackbacks

  1. […] posts:Β  Faces (Pseu’s Blog) * Faces (Thoughts from Finchley) Spread The Word:MoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

