Scotland – The Ochil Hills and Some Personal History

I recall that my Father, when I was a small child, had a fading black & white photograph on the bedroom wall.  It showed a small party of huntsmen preparing to cross a river as they rode in the shadow of the Ochil Hills – indeed, I believe that the title of the photo was ‘Ochil Hills’.   He was born in Dundee – not so far from those hills.    I have no idea where exactly it was taken – I believe it came from a newspaper originally.   There was an island in the river and the long shadows from the trees and riders, dwarfed by the distant hills, strode across the farmland in the foreground.   As a contre-jour shot it created a lasting impression on me – I still love to point the camera against the sun, though my choice of subject matter tends to be more industrial/urban (maybe that’s more from available subject matter than choice?).

As a child I travelled to Scotland to visit relatives every other year from my birth until I went to work – the alternate years were spent in Norfolk where my Mother had family (another part of Britain that has great beauty).   We stayed in Aberdeen with my Uncle Chris, Edinburgh in a hotel and Earlston with Aunt Jeannie – the Addisons are a sept of the Gordon Clan so Aberdeen and Earlston should come as no surprise as they are in the ‘Clan’ lands.

My Grandfather was an engine driver, initially with the North British Railway and subsequently with the LNER and BR.   Some of my earliest happy memories of Scotland involve the railway journeys to get there and to travel around.   Names of places come to mind that are no longer on the rail map.  Melrose, Hawick and Ballater.  We travelled on the prototype Derby Battery Electric Multiple Unit up the branch to Ballater.    I can remember travelling to Hawick behind the old LMS locomotive named Princess Elizabeth – good lord! She’s our  Queen now and has been on the throne for all my life!!!   Melrose was an early diesel locomotive experience – the train back to Edinburgh was hauled by an English Electric Type 4.   The whistle on idle and the grumbling roar when the throttle was opened made a lasting impression – they remain one of my favourite locomotive  classes to this day.   Railways remain a fascination with me.   I guess it’s in the blood, though when it became time to work I went to the Telecommunications side of the Post Office!   I’ll never know why – perhaps it was the size of the pay cheque at the time?

So – This year I took my son to the land of my Fathers for the first time – it feels strange that he had already walked the dusty land of Zimbabwe, somewhere my Father never went.  I think he enjoyed the view he had of the country in the short time that we visited.   I hope that we will be back again regularly to see more.   There is so much beauty in Scotland that I cannot possibly show it with a few photos from one holiday, but I have selected a few for here and I have provided a link to my Flickr photostream to allow you to enjoy the full size versions and more…

These and more at Scotland on my Flickr Account

Comments

  1. you have such a rich, beautiful history. your son is fortunate to have such a past to discover with you. the countryside just so spectacular, breathtaking, serene. thanks for sharing . it is such a beautiful story.

    • Thank you for taking the time to look and read – I feel my family history strongly, possibly because I was quite close to my parents. It gives me a way of shaping the future from the past 🙂

Leave a Reply

