Coach Hunts

Clarkes BV10ZKH on Buckingham Palace Road

Clarkes BV10ZKH on Buckingham Palace Road

An explaination for the uninitiated 🙂

Britain is a nation of people with hobbies and interests.  Ok, football is often cited as the national passion and I go to watch my local team play many of their matches.   But among my other interests are photography and transport.   Indeed, my photography stems from my interest in transport – I wanted to record what I was seeing.   I retain a love of railways and buses though I’m certainly not a ‘spotter’ any more 😉

Living in London means seeing a wide range of coaches from the UK and Europe.   They are a key part of our tourist industry.   A trip down to anywhere in the Marble Arch, Hyde Park Corner, Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace area will guarantee photographing a wide range of vehicles in addition to the usual National Express coaches on the long distance routes in and out of Victoria Coach Station.   So I try to take a stroll down that way a few times each year – which is what I refer to as a ‘Coach Hunt’.

Hardings GB09HCR on Buckingham Palace Road

Hardings GB09HCR on Buckingham Palace Road

This year will probably be a bumper one for the coach tour operators with a Royal Wedding planned and when I visited the Buckingham Palace area yesterday I found the surrounding roads swarming with vehicles very early in the season.  On the right are a couple of examples of the coaches on the tourist run to Buckingham Palace.

There’s a big TUC march planned for 26th March which I shall attend in support – more coaches guaranteed on that day too 🙂

For a different type of Coach Hunt, see my February post Coaching Before The Donkey Derby

Leave a Reply

