Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

I don’t do New Year Resolutions… Me, Myself and I usually sit down together from time to time throughout any given year and have a politburo meeting to look at things that need to happen in our life and take decisions about how to get there. As mentioned in a previous post, one of these recent meetings resulted in a decision to return to my old hobby of being a Rail Enthusiast. Not that I’d ever lost my interest, but we’re talking about going back to deliberately going out to collect train numbers as well as photographing them. So why would I return to doing that? Well, it’s a good excuse to get out more and increase my exercise levels and it dovetails nicely with attending away matches as I follow Wingate & Finchley around the Home Counties. So, for this week’s photo challenge let me present 90011 photographed on New Year’s Eve at Liverpool Street…

90011 at Liverpool Street

Checking the dictionary, I see that Resolved means firmly determined to do something. So here are Wingate & Finchley’s Scott Shulton and an East Thurrock player, both Resolved to win the ball…

Resolved to Win the ball

Comments

  1. i am with you martin, no new years resolutions … it is always on ongoing process!

  2. The front of that train looks kinda like a delivery van. Those 2 players are definitely determined in their quest for the ball. Great action photo

  3. What an amazing capture in the second photograph!My first thought is “ouch” :)

  4. You had an exciting year, covering the many unforgettables games and life around you. Truly an inspiration. Wishing you and your family an amazing 2013.

  5. I’ve never been big on making those last-minute sort of resolutions, which I’m okay with, but I could probably do a bit better on my goal-planning… I feel like it might help me to sit down and think about things in the way you’ve described.
    Love the 90011 photo, too, of course! Looks like a fascinating structure, too (reminds me a bit of photos I’ve seen of the Old Pennsylvania Station in NYC). :)
    I feel a bit like those players in your second image today… the BCS championship did not treat me too well last night, I’m afraid… I’ve been watching Notre Dame football since I was 9 (23 years or so) and was really, really hoping to see my first National Championship victory… wow… brutal. :(

    • Sorry to read about the defeat Bob. But you’ve had a great season and I understand that you have a great young Quarter Back, so next season could be the one to go that extra step :-)

      Good luck with the goal-planning. Flexibility is important, so don’t be disappointed if you don’t always achieve a goal – instead, measure how far you got towards it :-)

      Glad you liked the shot of 90011 – I’ll have to dig out a couple of shots of Liverpool Street showing the roof sometime :-)

  6. Nice photos, Martin! Especially like all that interaction on view in the second one —

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 490 other followers

